Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Community Of Christ Appoints K. Scott Murphy And Richard C. N. James To The Council Of Twelve Apostles

The Blue Springs Examiner has published a more in-depth article about two changes to the Community of Christ's Council of Twelve Apostles announced during the recent 2010 World Conference. The Council of Twelve Apostles has the same status in the Community of Christ as the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles does in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The Examiner's primary focus is on K. Scott Murphy, who was called to replace Leonard M. Young. The Council of Twelve Apostles members carry significant responsibility for the Community of Christ’s expansion and serve as administrative supervisors of field jurisdictions. “It’s not a position one can apply for and interview for,” said Murphy, who was released from his previous calling as World Church Human Resources Ministries director. “It strictly comes as a calling from the president of the church.”

Murphy’s background is in education. For nearly two decades, he worked as a school principal, counselor and music educator. Nine years ago, Murphy moved from Washington to Iowa to work full time with the Community of Christ. Murphy, who attends the Colonial Hills Community of Christ congregation in Blue Springs, said the church and the education system often serve the same purpose and promote the same sense of community. “The schools, from my perspective, are about making a child whole and giving them self-worth through the education process,” he said. “The church also is about making people feel whole and bringing spiritual needs. In the end, it’s all about the worth and value of each human life and developing that in the best way they can.”

But although Leonard M. Young has been released from the Council, he's not done serving in the church. He will continue his work for the First Presidency for 18 months, researching how the church can conduct its business more spiritually rather than relying on parliamentary procedure. He also will remain a member of the Order of Evangelists, who are known as ministers of blessing free of administrative responsibilities. They are similar in status and function to Patriarchs in the LDS Church.

The article also briefly mentions that Richard C.N. James, a resident of Wales in the United Kingdom, was called to the Council of Twelve Apostles, replacing Mary Jacks Dynes, who was released after serving as a member of the Council since 2002. This is in contrast to the LDS Church's practice of calling their apostles for life.

Community of Christ President Stephen M. Veazey explained how apostles are called to service. “Given the impact on individuals, families and church jurisdictions, I carefully weigh many factors,” President Veazey said. “I also consult other presiding officers to gain perspective. But, when final decisions are needed, my overriding concern is for the Holy Spirit’s direction.” The final step was approval by the delegates to the 2010 World Conference. This is quite similar to the process by which the LDS First Presidency calls its apostles, except that their names are merely submitted to the membership for a sustaining vote after the calling.

The names of other members of the Council of Twelve Apostles are available HERE.


Musicmaninpa said...

in the LDS church the term is:
Council of THE Twelve Apostles
in the RLDS/community of Christ
it is called
The Council of Twelve Apostles
slight difference in terminolgy

Jack Mormon said...

Thanks for the clarification. I've incorporated the corrections into my post.

I do prefer to be precise with proper names.